Best Practices logo

Best Practice Team

Thank you to our volunteer aasp members who give of their time and expertise to collect, review, and approve best practices within the six designated areas of advancement services.



Lynne Becker, Principal, Advancement Services

Chair of Best Practices

Serena Livingston, Advancement Services Consultant

Resource Documents


Advancement Management

  • Chair: Elizabeth Toman Tavares, Loyola University of Chicago
  • Derek Clark, University of South Carolina
  • Vanessa Kaskiris, University of California Berkeley
  • Martha Lauria, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund
  • Melanie Majikas, Cuyahoga Community College
  • Blanca E. Mesta-Martinez, MLK Community Health Foundation
  • Bob Rickards, St. Norbert College
  • John Taylor, John H. Taylor Consulting, LLC

Advancement Technology

  • Chair: Chris Amherst, University of Chicago
  • Robyn Doughty, University of California Berkeley
  • Vidya Kagan, Menlo School
  • Turner McCulley, Washington State University Foundation
  • David Woodley, University of Alaska Foundation

Donor Relations and Stewardship

  • Chair: 
  • Melanie Armstrong, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • Tracy Forkin, Johnson & Wales University
  • Vaishali Revollo, Conquer Cancer Foundation
  • Rick West, St. John’s College
  • Beth Wood, Trustees of Dartmouth College

Prospect Development

  • Co-Chair: Carolyn Vasquez, Holy Name Medical Center
  • Co-Chair: Lauren Woodring, Philadelphia Museum of Art
  • Jessica Channell-Iler, University of Naveda-Las Vegas
  • Nicole Combs, University of Colorado
  • Ruthie Giles, University of New Hampshire
  • Sara Groh, National MS Society
  • Hope Hudson, Freelance Researcher
  • Emily Kahn, Drexel University
  • Alexa Makhani, Washington State University Foundation
  • Lindsay Rogillio, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • George Tabet, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Kyle Weber, ALSAC/St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital

Records Management

  • Co-Chair: Wendy Bucci, University of Rhode Island Foundation
  • Co-Chair: Dina Sorrentino, Ringling College of Art & Design
  • Beverly Bain, Fundraising Database Consultant
  • Lynn Becker, Principal, Advancement Services
  • Jason Boley, BWF
  • John Crowley, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Scott Fendley, Central Washington University Foundation
  • Elma Goduto, EARTH University Foundation
  • Alan Hejnal, Smithsonian Institution
  • Cynthia Hornbeck, Texas Woman's University
  • Ann House, University of Miami (retired)
  • Preston Lundgreen, University of Arizona
  • Megan McCord, Rutgers University Foundation
  • John Taylor, John Taylor Consulting, LLC
  • Shelby Tudor, Children's National
  • Eric Valdescaro, University of Memphis