Member Awards

The aasp Awards Program recognizes outstanding professionals for their contributions to the organization. Winning an aasp award is an outstanding accomplishment and a great honor within the advancement services profession. Award recipients are announced at the Annual Business Meeting at the Summit.

Aspire Awards

As a member of aasp, you are part of a community dedicated to informing the strategy and directing the operations fueling and funding nonprofit organizations. Your passion and drive, collectively, create opportunity and inspire innovation.

The aasp Aspire Awards recognize and acknowledge the contributions to and achievements of advancement services individuals and teams who are forging robust solutions to some of today’s most complex challenges facing our industry.

Learn More


Jonathan Lindsey Lifetime Achievement Award

The highest honor aasp bestows on an Advancement Services professional, the Jonathan Lindsey Lifetime Achievement Award, is presented to a member in recognition of their lifetime achievement and service to the profession. The award is named after the late Jonathan Lindsey. Recipients of this award have made significant contributions to the field and have made outstanding accomplishments in their professional lives. The Board of Directors is responsible for determining recipients of this award.

About Jonathan Lindsey
In April of 2012, Advancement Services lost a master in the profession with the passing of Jonathan Lindsey.  Jon retired from Baylor University where he was the director of information and donor services. He remained active as a charter member of aasp and served as the inaugural chair of the ethics committee. His long and distinguished career in Advancement Services was enthusiastically recognized at our 2009 Summit, when Jon received the first-ever Lifetime Achievement Award.  Whether it was engaging in a conversation on best practices, leading an industry software session or a lively discussion of an ethical dilemma, Jon embraced his work and interests with great passion and dedication.

Past Award Recipients

2018 Recipients

  • Emerging Leader: Susan Quinn, Lenoir-Rhyne University
  • Outstanding Leader: Sharon Lonthair, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Jonathan Lindsey Lifetime Achievement Award: Robert Weiner, Robert L. Weiner Consulting

2017 Recipients

  • Volunteer of the Decade: Vicky Medlock, Rollins College

2016 Recipients

  • Volunteer of the Year: Tom Chaves, Lehigh University
  • Emerging Leader: Mark Koenig, Oregon State University Foundation
  • Jonathan Lindsey Lifetime Achievement Award: Ann House, University of Miami (Retired)

2015 Recipients

  • Volunteer of the Year: Melody McBeth, Highland Fundraising Solutions, LLC
  • Emerging Leader: Bart Jacobs, Utah Valley University

2014 Recipients

  • Volunteer of the Year: Shomari White, Children's National Health System
  • Emerging Leader: Amanda Jarman, Fundraising Nerd

2013 Recipients

  • Volunteer of the Year: Jennifer Liu-Cooper, University of Delaware
  • Emerging Leader: Vered Siegel, Children's Home + Aid
  • Jonathan Lindsey Lifetime Achievement Award: Lynne Becker

2012 Recipients

  • Volunteer of the Year: Meredith Hancks, Western Illinois University
  • Emerging Leader: Lisette Clem, Bryant University
  • Jonathan Lindsey Lifetime Achievement Award: John Taylor, North Carolina State University

2011 Recipients

  • Volunteer of the Year: Amy Phillips, Tulane University

2010 Recipients

  • Volunteer of the Year: Jon Thorsen, The Nature Conservancy

2009 Recipients

  • Lifetime Achievement: Jonathan Lindsey, Baylor University